*Technical Colleges and Colleges & Universities photos were taken on Carthage College campus and provided by Carthage College.


Public K-12 Schools
  • Racine Unified School District serves over 21,000 students living in the eastern half of Racine County with 21 elementary schools, 6 middles schools, and 4 senior high schools. The district has three elementary magnet schools, one year-round elementary school, two charter schools, a middle school/high school alternative center and a Fresh Start Program. Remedial education and programs for the gifted and talented are offered in K-12. College bound students may enroll in advanced placement or International Baccalaureate courses. 
  • Burlington Area School District consists of five elementary schools, one intermediate school, one middle school and two high schools. The intermediate school serves 4th, 5th, and 6th graders providing students and parents four different learning programs.
  • Drought School is the only school in the Norway J7 School District (not a part of the Racine UnifiedSchool District) and is located on the corners of Highway 45 and 7 Mile Road in Franksville, Wisconsin. The school consists programs from Kindergarten through 8th grade, and also offer a 4 Year Old Kindergarten program featuring licensed instructors.


  • Union Grove Elementary School and Union Grove High School make up the Union Grove Joint School District 1. The district strives to provide the highest educational opportunities to residents of Union Grove and surrounding areas. The district’s mission is to educate and empower every student to be a life-long learner.
  • Waterford School District consists of the Washington-Caldwell District and Waterford Union High School District which follow a traditional curriculum offering students high quality instructions, opportunities for advanced studies, and extra-curricular activities in a nurturing educational setting with a standard academic calendar. Students at Waterford have traditionally scored above the national and state levels in standardized tests.
  • Kansasville Elementary School which serves residents of Dover, WI and surrounding communities, and Raymond Elementary School which serves residents of Raymond and surrounding communities, are both a part of Dover District 1.

Private K-12 Schools
  • The Prairie School is an independent, college preparatory day school serving more than 550 students through Grade 12. The Upper School's challenging academic program is accented by 10 advanced placement courses and opportunities in the fine, creative, and performing arts.


  • Racine Christian School (RCS) is a Christian School providing more than 200 students an education with a focus on moral and spiritual teachings. RCS students test two years above the national level on standardized tests.
  • St. Catherine's High School provides over 220 High School students with an excellent Christian education. Its focus is on developing individuals who are committed to gospel-value living, prepared to enter college or the workforce, and are willing to contribute leadership and service within the community.

  • Catholic Central High School is located in Burlington, WI and is committed to providing a Catholic based education while developing students' abilities and creative talents in all aspects of their intellectual, spiritual, moral, and emotional lives.
Technical Colleges
  • Gateway Technical College serves the vocational and technical training needs of Southeastern Wisconsin.   Offerings include Associate Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates, and workshop programs in over 77 fields. Major campus locations are found in Kenosha, Racine, and Elkhorn.

  • Milwaukee Area Technical College serves the most diverse student population of any college in Wisconsin. It offers well-rounded education that leads students to becoming job-ready graduates. The top employers for 2010 graduates consisted of Advanced Health Care, Aurora Health Care, Inc., Northwestern Mutual, and We Energies. MATC 2010 Graduate Report

Colleges & Universities                           Fact Sheets Availible
Public Colleges & Universities

  • University of Wisconsin Parkside is located between the cities of Kenosha and Racine. Undergraduate degrees are offered in 24 academic majors. In addition, the University provides two graduate degrees, an MBA and a Masters of Applied Molecular Biology (the only one of its kind in Wisconsin).


  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, located in Milwaukee, offers degrees in the fields of architecture, business, chemistry, engineering including electrical, energy, mechanics, materials, mechanical design, and structural, and other fields.



Private Colleges & Universities
  • Carthage College in Kenosha County, is a private institution offering liberal arts degrees with a student to faculty ratio of 16 to 1. The college offers study in 33 major fields,13 special academic programs, a Masters in Education program, and an MBA cooperative program with Loyola University in Chicago.


  • Marquette Universitylocated only 35 miles north of Racine County in Milwaukee, is a Catholic, Jesuit, institution. It has 11 academic units offering a variety of undergraduate and graduate majors. Marquette offers courses on campus as well as two satellite locations in Kenosha and Waukesha. The university also extends a part-time law program, an executive MBA program, and a physician assistant studies program.


  • Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE) is a private, nonsectarian university, located in Milwaukee, with an enrollment of approximately 3,000 students. Degrees are offered in engineering, engineering technology, business, technical communication, construction management, medical information, nursing, and perfusion.


  • Alverno College is one of the largest, Catholic, women's colleges in the nation, located in Milwaukee, WI. It offers a vast range of degrees ranging from studio art to political science and nursing. Alverno will hold you to high academic standards while challenging you to write, speak, and present research in every area of study.

More private colleges & universities in the area consist of: DeVry University and Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Back to top